National Company Law Tribunal Notifies Transfer of 8 Members

The National Company Law Tribunal has notified the transfer of 8 members with immediate effect. Explicitly, the action was taken under Rule 15 A, sub-rule (4) of NCLT (Salary, Allowances and other Terms and Conditions of Service of President and other Members) Rules, 2015 notified by Central Government, Ministry of Corporate Affairs.

Transferred Members

  1. BP Mohan, Member (Judicial) – NCLT Mumbai to NCLT Amravati
  2. Mohammed Ajmal, Member (Judicial) – NCLT Amravati to NCLT Mumbai
  3. Sucharita R, Member (Judicial) – NCLT Cuttack to NCLT Chennai
  4. Narender Kumar Bhola, Member (Technical)- NCLT Hyderabad to NCLT New Delhi
  5. Veera Brahma Rao Arekapudi, Member (Technical) – NCLT Kochi to NCLT Hyderabad
  6. Virendra Kumar Gupta, Member (Technical) – NCLT Kolkata to NCLT Ahmedabad
  7. Prasanta Kumar Mohanty, Member (Technical) – NCLT Ahmedabad to NCLT Guwahati
  8. Venkata Subha Rao Hari, Member (Judicial) – NCLT Guwahati to NCLT Mumbai.

The notification states that the honourable members should move to their new stations of posting. However, only after the lockdown restrictions stand lifted by the Central Government and the respective State Governments.

About the National Company Law Tribunal

The National Company Law Tribunal, a quasi-judicial body in India, adjudicates issues relating to Indian companies. While the tribunal was established under the Companies Act 2013, it was constituted on 1 June 2016 by the government of India. As a matter of fact, V. Balakrishna Eradi committee on law relating to the insolvency and the winding up of companies recommended the constitution of the Tribunal.

Being that, all proceedings under the Companies Act, including proceedings relating to arbitration, compromise, arrangements, reconstructions; and the winding up of companies shall be disposed of by the Tribunal. Moreover, the National Company Law Tribunal serves as the adjudicating authority for the insolvency resolution process of companies and limited liability partnerships under the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code, 2016. Meanwhile, a retired Judicial member or a serving High Court Judge chairs the bench. Additionally, a technical member from the Indian Corporate Law Service, ICLS Cadre also marks his/her present.

Ishan Harlalka
Ishan Harlalka
I am a 3rd year law aspirant pursuing BA LLB. I am deeply interested in learning and am always looking forward to gain knowledge about new subjects. In my leisure time, I try to read books of various genres and by different authors. As people from non-law background may find it difficult to understand legal provisions and jargons, I try to write in a way that my articles are easy to comprehend and after reading them, one can discuss them with others.


The case of Aruna Shanbaug that changed the Euthanasia laws...

It is my Belief that death is a friend to whom we should be grateful, for it frees us from the manifold ills which are our lot - Mahatma Gandhi. As human beings, out the umpteen desires that we have, one of them is definitely to have a peaceful death....

Justice D Y Chandrachud’s path-breaking Verdict in the Sabarimala Case of...

“Will the quest for equality and fraternity be denuded of its content where women continue to be treated as children of a lesser god in exercising their liberties in matters of belief, faith and worship? Will the pursuit of individual dignity be capable of being achieved if we deny...

After repealing section 377, its time to Legalise Same-Sex Marriage in...

A draconian, archaic law that criminalized homosexuality was struck down in a historic judgment given by the Supreme Court in 2018. Two years after the judgment, the LGBTQ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer) community has now sought legal recognition of their relationships. As the social stigmas surrounding the LGBTQ...

Modern Day Book Burning a.k.a Internet Shutdowns

The internet has become an indispensable element in our society for all the obvious reasons. For the majority of users, not a single day goes by where we don't 'need' the internet and the lack of a reliable and fast connection can feel paralyzing. An internet shutdown refers to...

Letter to UNHRC – Dr Kafeel Khan, Punished Because He’s Muslim

Kafeel Khan, a doctor by profession and a social activist has been targeted by Yogi Government since 2017, in 3 years he had been maliciously arrested 3 times & imprisoned for around 14 months on the false charges set up against him at many instances. Now he is absolved...

Prison Life In India and its Aftermath

Everyone prays to never see the bars of prison in their lifetime. Yet, as fickle as life is, it is quite hard to predict the future. It is in everyone’s benefit to know a little bit about prison life; for movies and cinemas do not do justice to the...