Justice Mohammad Rafiq Takes Oath as Orissa High Court’s Chief Justice

Justice Mohammad Rafiq took oath as the Chief Justice of the Orissa High Court. Governor of Orissa, Prof. Ganeshi Lal, administered him the oaths of the office and secrecy. The ceremony took place on April 27, 2020, at the Lok Seva Bhawan in Bhubaneswar.

Justice Mohammad Rafiq: 31st Chief Justice

He will serve as the 31st Justice of the Orissa High Court. The Supreme Court Collegium made the recommendation in this regard on 18 April 2020. After discussion with the Chief Justice of India and The President of India, he was transferred from the Meghalaya High Court on 23 April 2020.

He started his law practice as an advocate at the Bar Council of Rajasthan in 1984. And his career as an advocate, just after securing his LLB degree. But he continued to study further and secured his Master’s degree in 1986. Thereafter, ee was appointed as Acting Chief Justice of Rajasthan High Court for the second time from 23 September 2019 to 5 October 2019 after the elevation of Justice Shripathi Ravindra Bhat to Supreme Court.

Last Holder of the Post

The Orissa High Court had been functioning under the patronage of Acting Chief Justice Sanju Panda since 5 January 2020. Following the retirement of Justice Kalpesh Satyendra Jhaveri.

Meanwhile, Justice Biswanath Somadder took oath as the Chief Justice of Meghalaya High Court on 27 April 2020.

About the Author

Did you enjoy this story?

Subscribe now to get the latest updates straight in your inbox. No spam, we promise.

Continue Reading